The Top Five Regrets of the Dying

Many people spend a lifetime on chasing happiness. We imagine, that if we get a new job, a new lover or a new car, then happiness awaits just around the corner.
But now a nurse shows us, that we have mistaken ideas about happiness.

According to Bronnie Ware happiness is not hidden behind expensive cars or a new job. She concludes that happiness for most people is right in front of us, if only we dare to pick it up.

For many years, nurse Bronnie Ware cared for people who were dying. During these years, she found, that the dying, surprisingly enough, all shared the same regrets.
Because of this, she made a list of the top five “regrets of the dying”, and published them in the book “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying.”

TOP FIVE REGRETS OF THE DYING:

1: I wish I’d had the courage to be true to myself, and not just live up to others’ expectations of me.
– This is the most common among all regrets. Most people who look back on a long life realize, that they have not even met half of their dreams.

2: I wish I hadn’t worked that much.
– People deeply regret that they have spent so much time in the daily grind. For afterwards, they find they have been cheated out of both their children’s youth and their partner company, says Ware.

3: I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
– Many people suppress their feelings to avoid problems. As a result they have never outlived their full potential.
Many people are sick, because they have held back their entire life, says Bronnie Ware.

4: I wish I had kept in touch with my friends.
– Many do not consider how important friendships are, before time is running out. Everyone misses their friends the day they await death. Many regret they have not given their friendships the time and attention they deserved, while there was time, she said.

5: I wish that I had allowed myself be happier.
– Too many people discover, when it is too late, that happiness is a choice they make for themselves.
They are stuck in the old patterns and habits. Fear of change makes people delude themselves and others into thinking, that they are satisfied. But deep down they long for a good laugh, and to be silly, she says.

My regret would be no. 4. Time runs too fast, and before I know it, I haven’t seen friends for a longer time.
Since this is one of the top 5, I better take that one more serious than I do now.

For the rest, I’m fortunately very ok.
-Work a lot in periods, but always make sure, I can have my time off at other times.
-Live as I believe I should. Not according to what others think I should do.
-I express my feelings. Politely, but I express.
-And I allow myself to be as happy as I can be.

What about you?

One thought on “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying

  1. I guess the greatest regret I’ve had is being unable to express my feelings. I think a lot of guys have been taught not to show your feelings.

    Particularly, when growing up and having to “act like a man”.

    I don’t think I ever truly express my feelings while in a war zone. I might have shared something with a prostitute. I know I express my anger every time I was attacked. Unfortunately, I still do.

Leave a Reply

